Running 84 Kms in January 2017 for fitness and mindfulness

Running 84 Kms in January 2017 for fitness and mindfulness

Mindfulness and of course fitness are two of my most obvious reasons for running.

I had a target in 2014 and 2015 to finish 1,000 Kms followed by a total running of 2,000 KMS in all (during 2013,2014,2015 across 29 months in all) which I did.

I have to admit that getting a shout-out when I had touched about 850 Kms of running by the legendary and iconic ultra-marathon runners of all time ~ Dean Karnazes was a definite boost and inspiration to push further. 

I realized the more I ran, the more I was able to run farther, for longer distances, faster and with that, have an amazingly refreshing time too. The pace, distance etc improved drastically with every passing month and I could cover longer distances at an amazingly comfortable pace.

Dean Karnazes Ultra Marathon Endurance Running
Dean Karnazes Ultra Marathon Endurance Running

Then in 2016, I let myself slide when I just completed about 350 Kms of running throughout the year instead of reaching my goal of 1,000 Kms #1000KMSRun16.

During 2016, with literally hundreds of luncheons, dinner meetings, travel of 3-5 days a week across cities, eating out almost every single day etc added up to more of my excuses to get lazy and avoid running.

At the same time, I was also getting into an unhealthy routine of slacking and not to mention eating habits across restaurants day in and day out which helped me add more lame excuses every single day.

At a time when I should have been running more due to the random choices of hotel food that I was gobbling up daily, I choose to get more comfortable and excuse myself out one way or another. If your body is used to a certain amount of exercise and you suddenly stop, it shows immediately! I got lethargic, put on massive weight, got cozy and worse, was fine with this routine.

But, lucky for me I can also get back into shape as fast I put on weight and more importantly, I love running.

So at the start of 2017 January, I started out of touch and not to mention, completely out of shape in comparison to 2013-2014-2015 running years. But, I know, I will get there too! Luckily, I am an entrepreneur since 7 years and that attitude, approach towards life has enabled me to always push myself farther and harder at any given point of time.

So I got back into running and have been out every day irrespective of which city I am in, regardless of where I am travelling to etc and have been able to clock in 84 kms of running during the past 25 days (since 1st Jan 2017 to Jan 25th).

Ananth V Running Fitness Endurance Mindfulness
Ananth V Running Fitness Endurance Mindfulness

This week I will also be starting with my diet regime (which I have been ignoring since past 6 months). This is to ensure that the running and efforts do not go waste and I can get back into shape, fitness levels etc by at least mid of this year.

Running, for me, more than anything else is about being in a calm state of mind where I can unwind for the day.

This year, unlike 2014,2015 and 2016, I am not going to keep a number/target and instead, just try enjoying the run everyday.

Its a little out of comfort zone for me since I am always used to working with goals and numbers, but, this time, let’s see how this approach goes!

Keep running and eat healthy.

I STRONGLY BELIEVE ~ “Champions are not made at the final moments, nor are they defined by the final moments of victory. They are destined to win because of the time they spent preparing for it

Have an amazing week ahead.

Be Well

Ananth V

Let’s Connect  ~ Website LinkedIn TwitterFacebook Social Media Book – Learn Digital MarketingCorporate Training

Leave a Reply

